Chase your dreams… no, really.

I finally decided to just do it. To just up and pack all my things, find someone to cover my lease, and drive across the country to my new home. With no job in place and no place to live, I still wasn’t worried. The excitement of getting to finally live in a ski town and live my dream by spending a whole winter season racing on my snowboard…. I just knew everything would work out. 5 months later, I won nationals! It was a dream come true…nat2017_181409I’m not exactly sure what my end goals were (or are)…. I mean, Olympics would be sweet… but all I know is that I’m having such a blast doing it. Life is too short for regrets!

I never really knew what I wanted to do with my life… I had dreams of being a news anchor… and a doctor…. a film producer… The world is at your fingertips… I started pre med in university, then junior year I decided I was too antsy to get out and explore and see the world, so I decided to drop pre med and just get the Bachelors of Science in Biomedical Engineering. 15 years less schooling gave me all the more time to see the world and live a life of my dreams!

I worked a few years as an engineer at start up medical device company. It was a great experience; I worked with some of the brightest people in the field and learned an immense amount of information. I was giving responsibilities that no recent graduate would be given at start up company in the neuroscience field. But it just wasn’t for me. I was not cut out to sit in front of a computer for 8 hours a day or work in a lab. Life is too short for me to work day in a day out from 9-5 (at least for now).

I feel blessed that I get to live the life I live. I was able to ride fresh powder every morning this winter, hike beautiful lakes and mountains on the weekends, and take time off whenever I desired for impromptu camping excursions and road trips. I still work, but I take on jobs that allow me to have the flexibility of creating my own schedule, and I realize I love it so much.

 

Author: Jazzy Van

Hi I’m Jasmin! I’m a 23 year old Eurasian adventurer. I grew up in San Clemente, CA and currently reside in Vail, Colorado. I’m an avid backpacker, snowboarder, rock climber, road tripper and all around adventurer. I love jumping out of planes and off of bridges. During the winters you can find me racing down mountains on my snowboard and during summers I’ll be jumping country to country. Catch me if you can!

Leave a Reply

