MI to CO – Day 4, Last Day

 

IMG_0807 2

We swung by downtown once more for a picture of the colorful Art Alley and continued onto Mt. Rushmore!!!!  On the way to Mt. Rushmore, we passed through a few towns and saw signs for an alpine coaster at the adventure park in Keystone. I am such a child when it comes to alpine coasters and slides, so of course I asked Marie if she’d be up to pay $10-15 for a ride. Since she had never gone before I told her we HAD to. To our great happiness and luck, it just so happened to be OPENING DAY so we got to ride for FREE! We love free things (especially ones that consist of getting to fly down  a coaster on a mountainside) so we were ecstatic!

Then we were off to Mt. Rushmore. I was pretty excited to see a place I had seen pictures of so many times in history books. Places like these always look smaller in reality than the pictures, but it didn’t disappoint. Note: If you don’t want to pay the $10 to park (which is full most of the time anyways), you can get great views off the highway too.

IMG_0896 2

We drove onto Crazy Horse Monument. I had actually never heard of it before but was excited to check it out. We ended up skipping it because of the $22 fee but it was interesting to see it from afar and learn about it from the brochures nonetheless. It’s a work in progress which is what makes it unique. Right now, the face is carved out but the entire horse and most of Crazy Horse’s body still needs to be complete. I don’t even know if it will be done in my lifetime! Hopefully it is so that I can return one day.

We drove further on to Custer State Park. As our great luck would have it, it was opening weekend so we again got free park entrance! Everything was really rolling our way. We drove through Needles Highway and had a beautiful view of the entire valley around us. We drove through narrow tunnels carved right through the rock and passed by numerous lakes. We had lunch in a little town called Hot Springs and saw a neat mural (and another waterfall of course….)

IMG_0893 2

We drove for a few hours and hit Nebraska (had to get the state sign of course). We stopped in Alliance at Carhenge (yes it’s what it sounds like, Stonehenge made of cars) and saw a bunch of other art made from car parts. It was definitely cooler than we thought it would be.

We got a picture of the infamous Chimney Rock on our way out of Alliance and continued onto Denver, our last destination that would mark we were home.

IMG_0884 2

We passed through Wyoming briefly (another state sign stop of course) FullSizeRender 14

We had no idea we lived so close to Cheyenne! I’ll have to come to Frontier Days for some concerts sometime… We stopped in Fort Collins for some delicious Indian Food (highly recommend Bawarchi Fort Collins if you have a craving for some authentic Indian/Nepalese cuisine!) It was great wrap up to the extended weekend. We saw so much in just four days! I can’t wait for the next one. Thanks for adventuring with me Marie! Adventure on my friends.

IMG_0832 2

 

 

 

 

Author: Jazzy Van

Hi I’m Jasmin! I’m a 23 year old Eurasian adventurer. I grew up in San Clemente, CA and currently reside in Vail, Colorado. I’m an avid backpacker, snowboarder, rock climber, road tripper and all around adventurer. I love jumping out of planes and off of bridges. During the winters you can find me racing down mountains on my snowboard and during summers I’ll be jumping country to country. Catch me if you can!

Leave a Reply

